President’s Circle Dinner Celebrates Major Donors

Buffalo State College honored more than 150 of its most dedicated supporters during the 22nd annual President’s Circle Dinner, held at Kleinhans Music Hall on October 15.

“We are very grateful to these individuals,” said Susanne P. Bair, vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the Buffalo State College Foundation. “They contribute to the success of the college, and we appreciate their unfailing generosity and loyalty.” The guests who were invited gave $1,500 or more to the Buffalo State College Foundation in 2007–2008.

President Howard presented the Foundation’s Leadership by Example award to John T. and Susan S. Hoskins. “Since John Hoskins accepted the appointment of chair of the Buffalo State College Council in 1997, he and his wife, Sue, have displayed an unwavering dedication to Buffalo State,” Howard said. “They are extremely generous and diverse with their support, hosting receptions for alumni, sponsoring events, and establishing scholarships. Together, John and Sue have led the way as stewards of the college.”

Richard J. Lee, ’68, dean emeritus of the Faculty of Applied Science and Education, received the Faculty and Staff Leadership award for his many years of service, his generosity to the college, and his unflagging enthusiasm for Buffalo State. “Dick is both an alumnus and a former dean,” said Bair, “who has served on the boards of both the Buffalo State College Foundation and the Alumni Association. Among his many generous acts, Dick recently made a gift that has enabled Campus House to expand by adding a patio.”

The John R. Oishei Foundation received the Foundation Leadership Award for its generosity to Buffalo State. The Oishei Foundation’s mission is to strive to be a catalyst for change to enhance economic vitality and the quality of life for the Buffalo Niagara region.

“The foundation regularly demonstrates its commitment to this mission through its sustained leadership giving to Buffalo State College,” said Linda A. Dobmeier, ’71, chair of the Buffalo State College Foundation. “Over the past decade, the Oishei Foundation has supported critically important college initiatives such as the Center for Excellence in Urban and Rural Education, the art conservation program, and the new Burchfield Penney Art Center.” Robert D. Gioia, president of the Oishei Foundation, accepted the award.

Sodexo Inc. received the Corporate Philanthropic Leadership Award for its contribution to the quality of student life through a $1 million donation toward the renovation of Buffalo State’s Campbell Student Union retail and resident student dining centers. Paul F. Kerns Jr., regional representative of Sodexo, accepted the award.

The Volunteer Leadership Award was given to the Burchfield Penney Capital Campaign Cabinet: Paula Joy Reinhold; Richard C., ’52, ’55, and Rita A. Auerbach, ’54, ’74; James Brandys, ’71, ’73; Gary M. Brost; Robert M. Budin; Audré J. Bunis; Paula Devereaux; Peter Fleischmann; Arnold B. Gardner; Carmine A. Grande (deceased); Muriel A. Howard; Nancy H. Jewett; Stanley Kardonsky; Lisa H. Krieger; Cindy Abbott Letro; William J. Magavern II; Ted Pietrzak; Calvin G. Rand; Karl Riner; and Victor Shanchuk Jr., ’61, ’72. Thanks to their extraordinary efforts, the plans for the new Burchfield Penney Art Center at Buffalo State College became a reality.

“The culture of philanthropy at Buffalo State is thriving,” said Bair. “It gives us great pleasure to acknowledge the people whose generosity enables us to fulfill the college’s mission.”