Convocation at Rockwell Hall

New Year, Same Great Results at Honors Convocation

The campus community is invited to attend the 52nd annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 16, in Rockwell Hall Auditorium at 12:15 p.m. The long-standing tradition will recognize 929 students for outstanding academic achievement, with the 2009 honorees again representing more than 10 percent of the undergraduate population.

All invited students have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or better and have accumulated a minimum of 45 credit hours at Buffalo State (30 for transfer students).

“Honors Convocation celebrates the superior academic achievements of our students,” said Carolyn Martino, staff assistant to the provost and longtime member of the Honors Convocation planning committee. “It’s an enjoyable and uplifting event that also gives students an opportunity to recognize the faculty and staff who have helped them succeed.”

Lee Ann Grace, assistant dean of international and exchange programs and Honors Convocation co-chair, encourages all faculty and staff to attend. “It is important for students and their families to have faculty and staff present,” she said.

George Hole, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of philosophy and humanities, is the keynote speaker. Kappa Delta Pi honor society president Pamela Joksimovic will convene the ceremony. Benjamin Christy, dean of the School of Arts and Humanities, will present the honors candidates to President Muriel Howard and Provost Dennis Ponton, who also will offer remarks. As a token of the college’s recognition, each student is presented with a Buffalo State Honors Convocation pin.

The Buffalo State College Chamber Choir will perform all musical selections, including the national anthem and the alma mater, “Our Finest Hour.”

Kappa Delta Pi and the Academic and Student Affairs Office are cosponsoring the event. Refreshments will be served.