Test tubes

Alumnus, Professors to Speak at Chemistry/Physics Lecture Series

The Chemistry/Physics Lecture Series has scheduled its fall speakers, and three very different topics will be presented: chemical synthesis; physics in art conservation; and the scientist as entrepreneur. All lectures start at 12:30 p.m.

Timothy Gregg, assistant professor of chemistry at Canisius College, will present “The Enantioselective Cyclopropanation of Allenes: Turning an Old Reaction into a Modern Tool for Synthesis” on Thursday, November 5, in Science Building 420.

Seyffie Maleki, professor of physics at Union College, will present “Lasers in Art Conservation” on Thursday, November 12, in Science Building 205. Maleki will discuss the use of lasers in art conservation to record, analyze, and restore works of art, and how the multidisciplinary nature of art conservation research has provided him with opportunities to explore his personal interests in physics and the arts.

Physics alumnus Keith Kowalsky, ’86, will speak on Thursday, December 3. Kowalsky is president of Flame-Spray Industries Inc. In July, he received the Intellectual Property Owners Education Foundation’s National Inventor of the Year Award at a ceremony held at the Smithsonian National Museum in Washington, D.C. Kowalsky contributed to the development of a unique process that can be used in the automotive industry. In accepting the award, Kowalsky said, “Our invention protects, enhances, and provides the ability to use and develop materials that allow more environmentally friendly products to be manufactured while overcoming many of the mechanical and material barriers.” (The location of Kowalsky’s talk is undetermined; please check the Events Calendar at a later date).

The lecture series, formerly known as the Chemistry Lecture Series, has been running for more than 20 years. Presenters have included alumni and speakers from around the world. “It has provided both students and faculty members with the chance to hear ideas from a variety of researchers,” said Michael De Marco, professor and chair of the Physics Department. This semester, the series is sponsored by the Auxiliary Services Grant Allocation Committee and the Academic and Student Affairs Office.