Research Foundation reception

Research Foundation Recognizes Sponsored Program Activity

The Research Foundation at Buffalo State College welcomed three new members to the Million Dollar Club during its 13th annual Research Foundation Recognition Reception on April 26. The Million Dollar Club recognizes those who have secured sponsored program funding in excess of $1 million.

Honored were Michael J. De Marco, chair and professor of physics; Naomi Diaz, program director of the Collegiate Science and Technology Entry Program (C-STEP); and Christopher M. Pennuto, professor of biology.

A record number of invited guests joined the reception in the Burchfield Penney Art Center to celebrate the achievements of members of the campus community who secured funds for research or sponsored programs, as well as to honor Research Foundation administration employees for milestones in years of service.

Jill Singer, professor of earth sciences and science education and director of the Undergraduate Research Office, announced the recipients of the Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship Program (USRF). Twenty-four awards were granted this year, the highest number awarded in a single year. Since the program’s inception in 1999, a total of 156 USRF program awards have been made, representing an investment of more than $630,000.

Guests also welcomed Buffalo State’s incoming president, Aaron Podolefsky, and his wife, Ronnie. The contributions of other Buffalo State and RF faculty and staff were also acknowledged. Please read the full news release on the Research Foundation Web site.