2008–2009 Holiday Observances for College Employees

All eligible classified and unclassified employees may observe the following holidays in academic year 2008–2009 without charge to accruals:

Labor Day
Monday, September 1, 2008

Columbus Day
Monday, October 13, 2008

Election Day*
Tuesday, November 4, 2008

Veterans Day
Tuesday November 11, 2008

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 27, 2008

Christmas Day
Thursday, December 25, 2008

New Year’s Day
Thursday, January 1, 2009

Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, January 19, 2009

Lincoln’s Birthday*
Thursday February 12, 2009

Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 16, 2009

Memorial Day
Monday, May 25, 2009

Independence Day**
Saturday July 4

*Election Day and Lincoln’s Birthday have been designated as “floating holidays” in lieu of fixed holidays for all employees except those represented by Council 82. UUP-represented employees observe Election Day on the day after Thanksgiving, Friday, November 28. Classes are scheduled on both floating holidays, so all other eligible employees will receive credit for a holiday on those dates and may arrange with their supervisors to use them on a date of their choice before the holiday recurs.

**Full-time employees entitled to observe holidays and for whom Saturday, July 4, 2009, is a regular day off will be credited with holiday compensatory time in lieu of the holiday (holiday leave), or vacation for Council 82–represented employees. Classified part-time employees who are regularly scheduled to work at least half time and are normally scheduled to work on the Friday immediately preceding the Saturday holiday shall be credited with holiday leave equivalent to the number of hours in their regular Friday schedule. As with floating holidays, this holiday must be used before the Independence Day holiday recurs.