2009–2010 Honorary Degree Committee

From the Interim President
I am pleased to announce that the following individuals will serve on the 2009–2010 Honorary Degree Committee:

Betty Cappella, Educational Foundations, chair; Jennifer Blanchard, President’s Office; Patrick Dexter, School of the Professions; Maryruth Glogowski, Information Services and Systems; Charles Kenyon, Student Affairs; Rachel Link, Institutional Advancement; Gary Pettibone, School of Natural and Social Sciences; Joseph Piccillo, School of Arts and Humanities; Jill Powell, Finance and Management; and Paul Theobald, the Graduate School.

The group is charged with identifying candidates for the State University of New York honorary doctorates, SUNY’s highest academic honor, and preparing nomination portfolios. Honorary degrees are awarded to recognize excellence that exemplifies the mission and purpose of the State University of New York in the following fields: public affairs, the sciences, humanities and the arts, scholarship and education, business and philanthropy, and social services.

Honorary degrees also can honor meritorious and outstanding service to the university, the state of New York, the United States, or humanity at large or people whose lives serve as examples of the university’s aspirations for its students.

Names of suggested nominees for SUNY honorary doctorates should be forwarded to Distinguished Service Professor Betty J. Cappella, c/o Maryruth Glogowski, E. H. Butler Library 134 or glogowmf@buffalostate.edu, by Friday, March 5, 2010.