Response to Senate Resolution: Graduate Thesis/Project Continuation Credit Policy

From the Interim President
At its March 12, 2010, meeting, the College Senate voted to forward the following recommendation to the interim president regarding the Graduate Thesis/Project Continuation Credit Policy:

Full article

Curricular Actions

From the Interim President
I have approved the following curricular items, which have been recommended by the appropriate dean, the College Senate, and the interim provost:

Full article

Teacher Education Leadership

From the Interim Provost
After careful deliberation and discussion, people have been identified to fill leadership positions for teacher education at Buffalo State. Paul Theobald, currently interim graduate dean, will be appointed interim dean of the School of Education. He will start July 2 and will be charged with providing leadership for the School of Education. Kathy Wood, director of CEURE, will be appointed interim associate dean of the School of Education. She will assume her new role on June 1 to help the transition. Neither Theobald nor Wood will have leadership responsibilities connected to the Teacher Education Unit.

Full article

Purchase Requisition Deadlines

From the Vice President for Finance and Management
Requisitions for supplies, materials, services, and equipment from fiscal year 2009–2010 funds must be received in the Procurement Office by the close of business on the following dates:

Full article

Senate Caucus Election Results

From the Chair of the College Senate
The results of elections at the caucus meeting were announced at the College Senate meeting on May 14. The new chair of the College Senate for 2010–2011 is Howard Reid, professor of psychology, who will begin his term on September 1. Members of the 2010–2011 College Senate will participate in an election of the vice chair. Other committee chairs elected in the caucus are as follows:

  • Elisa Bergslien, Academic Plan Committee
  • Ted Schmidt, Budget and Staff Allocation Committee (BSAC)
  • Bill Raffel, Bylaws and Elections Committee
  • Michael Lazich, Curriculum Committee
  • Anthony Hotchkiss, Faculty and Staff Welfare Committee
  • Andrew Nicholls, Instruction and Research Committee
  • Heather Maldonado, Standards for Students Committee
  • Diane McFarland, Student Welfare Committee

New Curriculum Committee Chair; Request for Revisions

From the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee
Michael Lazich, associate professor of history and social studies education, was announced as the newly elected chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee at the College Senate meeting on May 14. He will transition into the position over the summer, with his term beginning September 1, 2010.

Full article

Curricular Items

From the Chair of the Senate Curriculum Committee
The following have been approved by the Senate Curriculum Committee and forwarded to the interim president for review and approval:

Full article