Scholars, Graduate Students to Speak at Chemistry/Physics Lecture Series

The Chemistry/Physics Lecture Series has scheduled its spring speakers, drawing on scientists from the College at Brockport and McGill University in Montreal as well as here on campus.

Refreshments will be served at 12:15 p.m.; lectures will begin at 12:30 p.m. in Science Building 420, unless otherwise noted. All will be held on Thursdays.

On February 26, Paul Seidler, a chemistry graduate student at Buffalo State College, will present “Infrared Studies of Metastable States in Sodium Nitroprusside and of the Film Formation Process of 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane on Silicon Substrates.”

On March 12, Mohammed Tahar from the College at Brockport, State University of New York, will speak on magnetic properties and measurements. Note: This lecture will be held in Science Building 272.

On April 2, Dominic Ryan, professor of physics at McGill University, will present “The Mössbauer Effect and Neutron Scattering Measurements in Intermetallic Compounds.”

On April 9, Jude Sabato, assistant professor of earth sciences and science education, will present “Angular Momentum in Planetary Atmospheres.” His talk will use the concept of atmospheric angular momentum to facilitate/unify topics in a survey of current problems in the dynamics of planetary atmospheres. He will talk about Earth’s atmosphere as well as the atmospheres of Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Titan—the largest moon of Saturn and the largest moon in the solar system. Note: This lecture will be held in Science Building 272.

The lecture series, formerly known as the Chemistry Lecture Series, has been running for more than 20 years. Presenters have included alumni and speakers from around the world. “It has provided both students and faculty members with the chance to hear ideas from a variety of researchers,” said Michael DeMarco, professor and chair of the Physics Department, which is participating in presenting the series this year.

This semester, the series is sponsored by the Auxiliary Services Grant Allocation Committee and the Academic and Student Affairs Office.