Skip to: Skip to main content | Skip to additional content | Skip to this section's navigation | Skip to Find People, For Faculty/Staff and sitewide search | Skip to the main navigation | Buffalo State


The Buffalo State College Council

The College Council is responsible for the "operations and affairs" of Buffalo State College. It is composed of ten members—nine appointees of the Governor of New York, and one elected student representative. Appointees serve seven-year terms, and student representatives are elected for one-year terms.

The College Council meets at least four times annually, and the chair, or any five members by petition, may at any time call a special meeting of the council. The agenda for such meetings will be available three days prior to the meetings and will be considered public records. Five members attending will constitute a quorum for the transaction of business and the act of a majority of the members present at any meeting is the act of the council. 

2007-2008 College Council Members
John T. Hoskins, Chair
Howard A. Zemsky, Vice Chair
William J. Bissett
James Brandys, '71, '73
Anne Laura Koessler Brosnahan
Robert D. Bulman, '84
Charles J. Naughton, '85
Alphonso O'Neil-White
Gerald C. Saxe
Dominique Gabriel, Student Representative


Transforming Lives: A Campaign for Buffalo State