Internal Control Steering Committee 

Committee Composition

The Internal Control Steering Committee (ICSC) shall be composed of representatives from the president’s area and each vice presidential area; such individuals as to be determined effective in communicating to program areas the intent and purpose of the campus Internal Control Program and supportive of same.

Committee Member Term

Members shall serve a term of two (2) years, with reappointment subject to approval by the division executive and the Internal Control Officer.

Committee Charge

1) Review campus audits and management letters; communicate same to responsible parties and executive management as appropriate; review subsequent action steps, timelines, and results in context of statutory and campus compliance; make recommendations as appropriate.

2)  Review annually Assessable Units* and results of Vulnerability Assessments* to determine need for changes and additional action.     

3) Review annually Internal Control Program schedule of activities for adequacy and compliance with all statutes and campus commitment to Internal Controls.

4) Bring to the attention of the Internal Control Steering Committee any internal control deficiencies, areas of concern or those at risk, which have not been identified specifically through the internal control process.

5) Review annually Internal Control Steering Committee Charge for update as appropriate.  

6) Demonstrate a positive attitude toward Internal Controls at all times.

7) Meet not less than twice a year to monitor Internal Control Program activities.

*      The process of segmentation identifies program and administrative functions necessary for the College to carry out its mission.  Functions identified through this process are called “assessable units” and provide the framework for the implementation of the College’s Internal Control Program.  Through the use of “vulnerability assessment” surveys the College monitors and evaluates its susceptibility to conscious or unintended abuses and reduced operational efficiencies. 


Committee Charge - 2013 - 2015