Congratulations to Dr. Kathy Wood who was recently appointed as Director of the Center for Excellence in Urban and Rural Education (CEURE)!


Congratulations to Eric Davidoff, Kelley Taggart and Megan Harf, Buffalo State College Elementary Education Teacher Candidates who have been invited to showcase their science and mathematics projects at The Buffalo Public School District Conference: "Preparing Our Children to Live and Prosper in the 21st Century" on Saturday, October 18th, 2008 at the Buffalo Convention Center. Their Cooperating Teacher is Mrs. Ellen Price, Teacher at West Hertel Academy.  Their college instructor is Dr. Coralee Smith, Associate Professor of Elementary Education and Reading.  Way to go!

Congratulations to Dr. Nanci Monaco for be awarded the President's Medal for Outstanding Teaching at Buffalo State College!

Congratulations to Dr. Dianne McCarthy, faculty advisor for the Buffalo State chapter of the Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI), for being selected as a "Branch of Excellence"! This is awarded to student chapters that demonstrate outstanding service to children through special projects designed by teacher candidates.

Congratulations to Dr. Hibajene Shandomo!  Her manuscript, “Getting to Know You: Cross-Cultural Pen-Pals to Expand Children’s World View,”has been accepted for publication inChildhood Education, Spring 2009 issue.

Congratulations to Mrs. Christine Tredo on receiving the prestigious Golden Apple Award!


Congratulations to Dr. Stephen Phelps on his retirement after 30 years of service to the Department of Elementary Education and Reading at Buffalo State College!

Congratulations to Dr. Nancy Chicola for receiving the Promotion Equity and Diversity Award!

Congratulations to all of those who participated and presented at this year's Research and Creativity Celebration!!



Congratulations to those who were recognized at this year's Honors Convocation!


Congratulations to Rosemary Lonberger whose publication Links to Literature Teaching Tools to Enhance Literacy, Character, and Social Skills is now in stores! 

Dr. Dianne McCarthy and the students of the Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) recently presented at the International ACEI conference in Atlanta, Georgia. They also received the Communication Branch Award. Congratulations! 

Congratulations to Ms. Harriet Sacks M.S.Ed, the 2008 winner of the award for Outstanding Faculty Commitment to Service-Learning in her EDU 211 Introduction to Literacy course, with the Special Recognition of First Niagara Mentoring Matters Partnership with Elmwood Village Charter School.

Congratulations also go to our 2007 Faculty Fellows:

Ms. Mary C. Bailey, Elementary Education and Reading Department

Dr. R. Bruce Baum, Exceptional Education Department

Congratulations to our faculty recognized as 2008 Spring Semester Service Learning Faculty and Courses:

Ms. Wendy McLeish; EDU 329 Integrated Thematic Instruction for Young Children,  Elementary Education and Reading Dept.

Dr. Michaelene Meger; EXE 245 Community Service with Individuals with Special Needs,  Exceptional Education Dept.

Mrs. Harriet Sacks; EDU 211 Introduction to Literacy,  Elementary Education and Reading Dept.

Congratulations to our EER/EXE students who were recognized with Student Leadership Awards from Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges on Tuesday, April 22, 2008.

Undergraduate EER/EXE Students Tricia Antos, Yadira Austin, Amy Bianchi, Marine Debuire, Laura Donnelly, Sarah Kwiatkowski, Bryana Loos, Rachel Mooney and Kristen Weisel.

Graduate EER Students Brooke Salzman

Congratulations to Rosemary Lonberger whose publication Links to Literature Teaching Tools to Enhance Literacy, Character, and Social Skills has just come out in stores! 

Congratulations to the No Walker Left Behind EER Run/Walk team for winning the Faculty and Staff Bengal 5K race!

At the February PDS meeting at Poplar Elementary Dr. Clements presenting on a pre-k mathematics program called "Building Blocks". For more information on his research and "Building Blocks" click this link: Building Blocks Website



Congratulations to Dr. Hibajene Shandomo for receiving a special award "in appreciation for her support and dedication for seven years to Poplar Academy and for assisting future teachers at Buffalo State College".                

Congratulations to Mary Bailey from the Elementary Education and Reading Department for being awarded a grant for Refugee Tutoring and Second Language Support Pilot Program as well as a second grant from CDHS to create a handbook for parents and caseworkers in the community with a high percentage of refugees.

Congratulations to Dr. David Henry for presenting at the Western Section STANYS Mini-Conference on March 6th at West Seneca West High School. For more information please click here for the attached agenda.      

Congratulations to Mrs. Leslie Day, Brooke Salzman, Sarah Kwiatkowski, and Amy Bianchi for the acceptance of their presentation at the National Association for Professional Development Schools in Orlando, Florida this April. Congratulations to Dr. Dianne McCarthy and Dr. Robin Harris for their acceptance to present at the conference as well.


Buffalo State College

Native American Student Organization Presents 

18th Annual Native American Heritage Celebration Month

"Honoring Our Native Women" 

For a full list of dates and special events please click here.

All events are free and open to the campus community and public.


Presentation by Dr. Geneva Gay, Speaker for Culturally Responsive Teaching on Wednesday, March 5, 2008.

Both Presentations are FREE but require registration. For more information see the fliers below.


Morning Presentation:

8:30 am – 12:00 noon

Campus West School Auditorium

Register at

(The link is now active, please scroll down the page to select March 5)

Direct questions to Sharon Raimondi at (716) 645-2455 x1143

Morning Flyer


Evening Presentation:

6:00 pm – 8:30 pm

Buffalo Academy for Visual and Performing Arts

Register by email to

Direct questions to Tamara Horstman-Riphahn at (716) 878-3008

Evening Flyer